First Anniversary of the Dream

One year ago I began hesitantly to share my dream of a gypsy wagon slowly rolling through the french countryside. My dear friend Leo encouraged me to write, and he has helped with each posting through the year. We are on opposite sides of the world, but this regular email contact has enriched our friendship. This is just one of the many gifts that Tòti has already given me.

The writing and sharing of my thoughts and experiences has brought me innumerable riches. I have found a new energy and excitement for life. New and old friends have contributed in time and money to turn the dream into reality. Interested people have shared their knowledge with me, and everyone has given me energy to continue. There have been many very special moments that I have shared on this blog.

Only one year ago I began giving my dream a voice. I started believing in it although there was no money available for such a project. Now the chassis is in the garage and the framing for the four walls is finished. My husband Mark is in the workshop now building the jig for laminating the roof beams.

Here are some photos of the doorway lamination:

 


 

 

 

 

Last Sunday our neighbor came to visit with a friend and take a look at the progress of Tòti. After examining our project and giving us lots of valuable information, they invited us for an afternoon ride in a “caleche”. We travelled for hours on sun dappled dirt roads through the forest. We were totally alone with nature. The horse was calm and strong but we leapt out and walked up steep inclines. There were moments of galloping, bouncing along in joy. It was a taste of my dream.


 

 

I feel deeply the generosity of spirit surrounding me at this time in my life. I only hope I can return the gift in some way.

 

About Suzanne

American living in France. Artist and lover of nature, gardening, all living beings. Married to the love of my life, mother of two wonderful daughters and grandmother.
This entry was posted in Community, Horse drawn vehicles, Lifestyle, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Anniversary of the Dream

  1. Suzanne says:

    Thanks Maria. Happy to hear you are doing well so far away. I miss you!

  2. Coucou Suzanne, It is always such a pleasure and heart warming to read about your progresses and see your dream come true. You are returning all the gifts you received by making us believe our dreams can become reality or if we have none that dream exist. It looks beautiful.Thank you for being you. Everything is good in California, the baby is growing up, city life is interesting ,plenty of hugs and kisses, Maria

Leave a Reply

