September, Color, and Gifts

The moment has arrived when I know that summer has picked up her skirts and tippeetoed south while I was sleeping. Bella and I stumbled out for our sunrise stroll only to rush back inside the house and grab a jacket. It was quieter than usual, the sun seemed to be sleeping in, and the gentle breeze had obviously been wrapped around a glacier before brushing past me. I love this time of year! I feel more energetic. Beautiful and delicious mushrooms appear on the forest floor, apples and walnuts are heavy on the tree branches, and winter squash peek out from the garden vines, bright yellow and orange. As I write this, the aroma of an apple pie baking in the oven fills the room.

Tòti becomes more real as the days pass. The brancards are attached, ready for a short trial trip with real horsepower. Mark has glued the trim on the back and both sides and I've been painting with the help of my friend Sonja. We sanded and painted 4 coats of acrylic satin house paint. I went absolutely crosseyed trying to do a neat job around the trim. I was not at all satisfied with the results using tape so it all had to be done freehand. I'm happy that's finished!

Here are photos of the trim being attached:

 

 

Here it is after the four coats of paint. The corner vertical trim pieces will be attached later and the top half of the sides painted after the roof is finished.

 

I've been trying out ideas for the painted decoration. So far this is my idea for a design to paint on the panels of the bottom half. Each one will be slightly different. There are 21 panels. This may be a lifetime project.

 

Sonja Severson has given Tòti a precious gift, a unicorn painting by a Russian artist, Arseniy Lapin. I suggest doing a google search for him. He's an interesting, original and very talented artist. A look at his images, sculptures and films is a wondrous experience!

Here's Tòti's unicorn:

 

 

 

About Suzanne

American living in France. Artist and lover of nature, gardening, all living beings. Married to the love of my life, mother of two wonderful daughters and grandmother.
This entry was posted in Community, Gypsy wagon/Roulotte construction technique, Horse drawn vehicles, Lifestyle, Small living spaces, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September, Color, and Gifts

  1. Ashlyn says:

    Lovely description of the appearance of Fall.. The same has happened here and your poetic description is so very fitting. Toti, looks incredible. I am so excited to see it in person!

Leave a Reply

