Knocked off My Feet

This is Bella who LOVES to run…

But….. she ran into me, knocking me down, bending and twisting my leg. So today I’m forced to sit still. I often battle with my impatience, a feeling that Tòti will never be finished. The cold mornings remind me that soon we will be forced to stop working until spring, and this fuels my impatience. Being knocked off my feet is a reminder to relax and enjoy the creative process instead of fretting.

 

I’ve been busy with my paint brushes and paints so here are a few recent photos.

 

 

 

I have drawn the design with chalk to begin, then painted it with a thin coat of white acrylique, lastly the colors in acrylique artist’s paint. When all of the decoration is finished, I plan to protect it with marine varnish.

The interior painting has begun with the ceiling beams varnished and the ceiling painted with the same cream color as the exterior trim. This is moving slowly as it is painful for my shoulders.

 

The unicorn arrived safely from Russia and watches me while I paint.

 

Mark is designing the driver’s seat which is fun for me to watch. There are many things to consider; materials available, comfort, security, weight, strength, durability, and esthetics. Accessing the brakes easily is very important, when seated, the leg mobility must be correct. Many of these questions were addressed when we were deciding where to put the wall, how much space was needed for the front deck, but now the measurements and design of the seat must be correct.

This is a first time project for both Mark and me. We are learning as we encounter each step of the process. Books, the internet, friends, and hours of conversation solving a problem are our school. We are looking forward to a short trial trip with a horse before winter wraps her frosty cloak around us. If this first short trip is successful, we will be confident that she will actually someday travel the french countryside.

 

And, something to remember..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Suzanne

American living in France. Artist and lover of nature, gardening, all living beings. Married to the love of my life, mother of two wonderful daughters and grandmother.
This entry was posted in Community, Gypsy wagon/Roulotte construction technique, Horse drawn vehicles, Lifestyle, Small living spaces, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

